The Messaging Module makes it easy for you and your clients to communicate in your portal.
When a client is created, a conversation is automatically created as well. The conversation will show a preview of the welcome message that will be sent to the client when they sign in for the first time. This welcome message can be customized in Settings / Messaging. The welcome message is the first impression your client gets when they log in the first time. So we encourage you to personalize this message - you can introduce yourself, your firm, explain how you want your portal to be used, and more.
Tip: If you want to prevent the standard welcome message from being sent when the client user signs in, you can invite a user, go to Messages, and overwrite the welcome message.
Only team members who are assigned visibility to a client can see the client and associated conversations on the Messaging page. So if you have a larger team and you don't want everyone to be notified about client responses, the best way to do that is using client assignment and visibility rules.
In the sidebar, you and your clients will always see a notification when there are unread messages. In addition, we send out email notifications when appropriate that contain the most recent message and a button that brings people right back into the messaging experience. Users do not have to authenticate again unless they are on a new device.
Important: Email notifications are sent 5 minutes after you send someone a message and only if the message is not viewed in that 5 minute period. This ensures your clients don't receive unnecessary email.